Running a 10k this Weekend

7 Oct

I just did a 5.25 mile run and it felt great. I also got to try out a new running shirt I picked  up at T.J. Maxx. It’s a long sleeve dri-fit from hind and it was perfect since it was kind of brisk out.

My new running shirt

This holiday weekend I’m running a 10k in Boston. I’ve been training for the last 2 months for this and I have been increasing my distance the last month. I typically run 5 miles at least twice a week and I try to get a shorter run in on the weekends when I’m with Matt. Lately I’ve been adding a 7.25 mile run instead of one the the 5 miles runs.

Generally I feel pretty ready for the race. In June I did a 7.1 mile race with a 8:10 split. I think I’m going to try for a 7:45 split this time around since the distance is shorter, less hilly and I feel very prepared for it.

I’m trying to pay attention to what I eat this week so my stomach doesn’t get upset on race day. I’m trying to stick to foods that I normally eat. This may be tough for me to do this weekend because me and Matt are headed to Salem and I know there will be a lot of sweets and deliciousness. I’m just going to try to avoid dairy products and anything too heavy.

FitSugar has a great checklist of ways to prepare for a 5k that I think also relates to a 10k. I’ve been decreasing my mileage, I only want to run a mile or two before race day. I also plan on getting plenty of sleep before the race. Lucky for me the race is in the afternoon so I can sleep in.

I’ll post updates after race day.

What do you do to prepare for a race?

4 Responses to “Running a 10k this Weekend”

  1. sheilabmarie October 8, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    Thanks for the tips. One of my goals is to run a marathon, but had no idea where to start.

    • Valerie October 11, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      No problem, that’s great you are thinking of doing a marathon. I’ve never gotten myself to run that distance, but I definitely have so much respect for anyone that can do a half or a full. That FitSugar article is definitely a great place to start to prep for a race.

  2. Desiree October 14, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Nice posts, I’ve read a few of yours so far and quite enjoyed them, will read a few others :p xxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10k Rundown « 5kFashionista - October 11, 2011

    […] ran the Tufts 10k for Women in Boston yesterday. I’ve been prepping for this race for the past two months so I’ve been really excited and a little nervous about it the last […]

Leave a Reply

