Half Moon Manicure

13 Oct

One of my favorite web sites for beauty tips and tutorials is thebeautydepartment.com. They have great makeup, nail and hair tutorials. This weekend I was enjoying some downtime before my race and decided to try this half moon manicure. The half moons are a little off, but I think it turned out pretty good for my first time.

My mom used to do a similar manicure on her toes. She told me she actually did the half moons by hand, it was hard enough for me to use the circles as a stencil… I guess I’ll need some more practice.

I really like using the contrasting colors and how it updates the traditional manicure. I used two Sally Hansen Diamond Strength nail colors in Save the Date (the dark purple) and Lavender Marquis.

Have you seen any nail or beauty tutorials that you want to try? Do you know of any other tutorial web sites?

4 Responses to “Half Moon Manicure”

  1. snapshotsofhappiness October 13, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    Your nails look awesome! My hands aren’t very steady, so I don’t think I’d be able to do that! Have you ever tried the ‘crackle’ polish? I’m always wanted to try smokey eyes tutorials. Haven’t been able to find any good ones though.

  2. Valerie October 13, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    I have tried crackle! I have a silver one that I use as a weekend nail polish. Do you use it too? I haven’t seen any really good tutorials smokey eye tutorials. I do try to do a smokey eye to go out, but it’s hard to get it to look really good, If you find any good tutorials let me know :)

    • snapshotsofhappiness October 14, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      No, I haven’t tried it. A few of my friends use it, they add it to the tips of their nails (kind of like a French manicure), looks pretty though cool! I’ll definitely let you know if I find a good smokey eye tutorial!

      • Valerie October 14, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

        That sounds like a good idea, I’ll have to try it :)

Leave a Reply

