What to Wear to a Football Game

14 Oct

I’m headed to a college football game this weekend with my dad to see my alma mater! I’m very excited and I’m hoping for a win since it’s the homecoming game. Football season is the epitome of fall and I can’t wait to cheer my team on from the bleachers with a hot cocoa or cider in hand.

In preparation for the game I started thinking about what to wear. I will be wearing my school colors, but I started thinking of other ways to look chic when you are on the sidelines.

J Crew long sleeve shirt, $80, Miss Selfridge blue shirt, 29, James Jeans bootcut jeans, $56, Sperry boat shoes, $47, Red handbag, $60, House of Harlow 1960 drop earrings, $44, Watch, $40, TopShop knit scarve, $32, MNG by Mango aviator sunglasses, $32

I made this set as a great alternative to the typical school sweater and jeans combo. I like the idea of layering in your school colors (I’d be rockin’ blue and white) with a sweater and plaid collared shirt. The scarf will help to add some warmth and the sunglasses will be necessary during a day game. I own a pair of Sperry Top Siders and they are very comfy and great for walking around in. I think the accessories make this outfit. The drop earrings, bright colored handbag and the wrap around watch all add a little color and sophistication.

What do you think? Could you see yourself wearing something like this to a sporting event?

What’s your favorite piece?

I could definitely see myself wearing something similar. My favorite piece is the watch.

5 Responses to “What to Wear to a Football Game”

  1. chameleonic October 14, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    great outfit for a casual day! ;)

    • Valerie October 14, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

      Thanks! By the way, I’m glad you commented because I am now hooked on your blog :)

  2. snapshotsofhappiness October 14, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Awesome outfit! During college, for football games I always wore jeans and t-shirts (sometimes me and my friends cut them up to ‘look cute’). But I’m digging your outfit! It looks comfy and warm for a game.

    I love the red bag! I recently got a red bag, but I don’t know how to wear/match it with my clothes. Any tips on what colors I should wear a red bag with? Or maybe you can create a post showing outfits to go with a red color? It’s such a dominant color that I don’t know what will clash with it! Thanks.

    • Valerie October 16, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      Since red is such a dominant color I tend to pair it with neutrals, but I can definitely put together a post for the end of the week showing a neutral pairing and also one that uses color. Are you looking to use it as a casual bag or something to go to work with?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tips on Wearing Colorful Accessories « 5kFashionista - October 23, 2011

    […] got a question in response to my What to Wear to a Football Game post concerning how to wear a red handbag. Bright colors can be tough to wear since they can be so […]

Leave a Reply

