Running Up Hills

16 Oct

This weekend I headed home to see my alma mater’s homecoming game with my dad (we won!) While I was home I was able to get a quick run in on Saturday.

One thing I miss about being home is being able to run hills. Where I live in Boston the routes I run are relatively flat so my hill stamina is not up to par. I ran just over 3.25 miles and the hill portion was brutal. The start of my run is pretty flat and then I head down a large downhill for about a mile which isn’t too much of a problem. When headed downhill it’s important to remember to stay in control of your run, and try not to hit the pavement hard. The problem is after the nice relaxing downhill I had to head right back up that same hill to finish my workout.

That looks like an intense hill workout

Image Source

I love running hills because it’s such a great workout. You end up working different muscles in a new way. I always feel more strain on my glutes and calf muscles. Hills are also a great part of a training program because it can prep you for small hills or inclines in a race. I also feel my runs are stronger on flat terrains after some good hill training.

I ended up really enjoying my workout. I used to run that route all the time in high school and on breaks from college so it brought back some memories. It also made me work up a sweat and I felt good doing it, you gotta love that runners high.

What’s your favorite place to run? Do you enjoy hill workouts?

6 Responses to “Running Up Hills”

  1. snapshotsofhappiness October 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Wow – you rain uphill for a mile straight? That’s really awesome!

    I love running in Boulder, CO. There’s so many different paths to chose from! Ones with slight hills, flat, etc. I think hills are, BRUTAL! But I do them because it feels when you’re done. Hope you had fun visiting your hometown.

    • Valerie October 19, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      Thanks it was a great time!

  2. sheilabmarie October 17, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I so know what you mean. Where I live, there is nothing but hills! So I’ve grown reallllllyy accustomed to running “cross country” style! and when I finally find some flat land, it feels so effortless.

    • Valerie October 19, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      I definitely miss hills. I didn’t realize how much I would want to run them until I moved to an area without them.

  3. Haute Cookture October 25, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    Hi Valerie
    So nice to discover your lovely blog via the IFB community. I’ve enjoyed reading all of your post. I love food fashion, and running too.

    I am a former collegiate sprinter and track coach here in Miami. I can totally relate to how exhilarating running can be–especially hills and stairs. There is truly nothing like a runner’s high! I am typical sprinter in that I don’t enjoy running long distances but my daily workout starts with a 2 mile run in beach sand or throughout the city. By the time I finish the rest of my workout I’ve probably run about 4 miles. It’s all mental I guess lol:)

    I’m a relatively new blogger as well. I started blogging at the beginning of my hectic track season back in March. By the time the fast approaching 2012 season rolls around, I should have my editorial schedule on point and will be posting more regularly.

    Congrats on your new blog. I look forward to reading your future post as well as virtual runs (up to 2 miles of course) with you:)

    • Valerie October 26, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      Thanks for reading and from what I’ve heard running on the beach is no joke. I also checked out your blog, I love the name :)

Leave a Reply

