What to Wear to the Ballet

4 Nov

Yay, it’s Friday! I got in a little bit of Yoga this morning, which was much needed, my legs were very tight from yesterday’s run. I also just finished a 3.4 mile run after work run. I ran it in 28:45, I was definitely trying to push it a little harder today and according to my nike+ I got a personal best for the 5k today. It was a lot colder than I expected and the wind was killer, I’ll definitely have to start wearing a pullover. I’m officially ready to start the weekend.

I bought tickets for Matt and I to see the Boston Ballet Company perform Romeo and Juliet this weekend. I’m really excited. I’ve wanted to see some sort of show in Boston that was arts related and I enjoy the ballet. When I was younger seeing the Nutcracker in my hometown was so much fun. It really is an experience that transports you to another time. Romeo and Juliet is also my favorite Shakespeare play. I’m glad Matt was interested in coming. Ballet isn’t his favorite, but I think it should still be a fun time for both of us.

The ballet has always seemed very glamorous to me. So I’m excited to think about the fashion possibilities. I checked the Boston Ballet web site to see what they recommend for Ballet attire and they recommended business attire… bleh! That just seems way to stuffy to me. So I came up with a matinee and evening look to wear to the ballet.

Matinee

Ballet Matinee

TopShop grey shirt, $100, High collar coat, $150, Mango chino pants, �40, Vince camuto boots, $93, Oasis tote handbag, $70, ASOS vintage jewelry, $50, Dreams Greets London silver ring, �55, Belle Noel by Kim Kardashian crystal earrings, $39

For an earlier show slacks and a blouse would be a great option. I think there’s something really whimsical about the pleating on this jacket, the color is also nice and bold so walking into the theater you will be making a statement. The skinny trousers have a modern cut and the booties also give this outfit an edge. I think the accessories really help bring this outfit together and dress it up. The drop earrings, watch and ring are all very playful with their intricate details, perfect for a daytime statement.

Evening

Evening Ballet

Pleated dress, �30, Oasis knit cardigan, $20, Houndstooth coat, $100, Dorothy Perkins nylon pantyhose, �6, Moda Spana high heel shoes, $50, Bowler handbag, $55, ASOS statement ring, $14, French Connection semi precious earrings, $22, Leather jewelry, $14

I love the soft and feminine look of the dress combined with the more menswear inspired coat. If you can’t tell I’m really liking statement coats today and this hounds tooth coat is gorgeous. The main piece of this outfit is the flowy dress which can be worn with the lace infused cardigan to deal with a cold theater. Nude pumps and nude back seam tights are accent pieces. Gold jewelery brings this outfit all together.

So I’ll be getting my ballet fix this weekend. What will you be up to? How do you dress for special events?

One Response to “What to Wear to the Ballet”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gossip Girl Inspired Fashion « 5kFashionista - November 7, 2011

    […] Monday! The ballet on Saturday was amazing. The orchestra was great and played the music beautifully. It was […]

Leave a Reply

