Add Some Sparkle to Your Wardrobe

14 Nov

I signed up for what will probably be my last road race until the spring. I’m doing a 5k Turkey Trot super bright and early on Thanksgiving day! I generally feel pretty ready. I’ve been getting in a lot of distance work in and today included a slow and steady 5 miler on the treadmill. I like to get in some long distances before a race, but I think over the next two weeks I want to try to focus on some speed workouts since I haven’t done a 5k in a while and could use a little speed training.

On to a very cute trend alert, has anyone else seen all the sequins and glitter this season? I can’t get enough of this sparkle trend. It’s perfect for the holidays and a night out.

What I like about this trend is you can go as bold or delicate with it as you want. A simple way to add some sparkle is with your nail polish. I’ve been searching for a great new shimmery nail polish color and they are all over the place. Brands from OPI, Revlon to Sally Hansen all have their own version of glitter polishes.

Another way to add sparkle on a small scale is with accessories. Jewelry, a clutch or heels are an easy way to add some shimmer to your evening or daytime look.

Add Some Sparkle to Your WardrobeSequin dress, $50, Short sleeve t shirt, $90, Sequin top, $40, DKNY sequin mini skirt, �64, Black Poppy sequin shorts, $30, Steve Madden platform pumps, $130, TOP CHOICE clutch handbag, $20, Marc by Marc Jacobs silver heart earrings, $48, SEPHORA by OPI Glitter and Sparkle Four Piece Full Size Nail Colour…, $28

Although I like the small ways to add sparkle, my favorite sequined pieces are bold. On my wish list right now is a sequin dress. I think it would be perfect for a holiday party and is an easy way to make a statement. The dress from Alloy above is form fitted and has a great low u-back design that adds some subtle sexiness.

A glitter skirt or shorts would look great with heels and a simple draped tee or sweater. The sequined tops can go with jeans or slacks. These looks can be very versatile.

These looks have me very excited for the holidays. There’s no better way to make an entrance than with some shimmer.

Anyone else really loving the sparkle?

7 Responses to “Add Some Sparkle to Your Wardrobe”

  1. snapshotsofhappiness November 14, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I definitely love this trend. :) its just so fun and can be done tastefully. I really like the blue sparkly skirt!

  2. Anna Blaise November 14, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I absolutely LOVE the sparkle trend. The gold dress is amazing. I might have to buy it for New Years or a Christmas party this year!

  3. Anna Blaise November 14, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Oh, I forgot to add, I have the pumps from Steve Madden and it is so comfortable and such an addition to a simple black dress. Totally brings the outfit from simple to glamorous. Everyone should I have a pair.

    • Valerie November 15, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

      I love the Steve Madden pumps, so jealous! It’s good to know they are comfy too.

  4. It's A Want November 14, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    loving the sparkle trend and all your picks!!

  5. Berty Morales November 15, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Love all of your selections :)

  6. Sophie November 22, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    I love sparkles this time of year. I have an entirely sequinned dress and sparkly tights for a full on sparkle look but I think I prefer things more subtle this year round. I love glittery platforms and collars/chokers. Good luck with your 5K run x

    http://thechicmuse000.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

