Jackets Galore

17 Nov

One week until Thanksgiving and I couldn’t be more excited to see my family and enjoy a little break from work and school. That means there is also just one week until my 5k Turkey Trot. My last race was a 10k and it was pretty rough. I’m going into this race just for fun. Of course I want to do well, but I’m not going to worry about getting a personal best this time. Instead I just want to end the race knowing I did my best and feeling good afterward.

I started out the morning with an intense BodyRock.tv workout called “The Trainer Who Loved Me” it took me just under 30 minutes and I was feeling the burn throughout. I also liked this workout because you don’t need any equipment, it’s all just body weight training.

I went to this presentation at my school after work so I ended up going to the gym later than usual. Since I got in such an intense workout this morning I decided to just do a speed trial for the 5k on the treadmill. I got through the 3.13 miles in 25:04. I may try to get in one more longer distance workout and some light intervals before my race on Thursday.

 Jackets Galore

Fall finally feels like it is actually here and that means it’s time to pullout those fall and winter jackets, if you haven’t done so already. I have a pretty large selection of jackets that range from formal to sporty. My collection includes leather, wool and waterproof and vary in sizes. Jackets can make a statement while being out in the colder temps, especially since no one can see your cute outfit underneath all those layers. Also, a versatile jacket can last for years so it’s worth investing in good quality pieces.

Jackets GaloreCalvin Klein long coat, $148, Victoria s Secret double breasted pea coat, $128, Oasis leather jacket, $150, TNA jacket

The Cape

Capes are on trend this season. They create an interesting silhouette and will definitely make a statement. A cape would look great with skinny or slim pants or a dress. Check out my Gossip Girl Inspired Fashion Post to see a great example of a cape being worn.

Pea Coats

Pea coats are a classic wardrobe staple. It’s a great idea to have one in a neutral color like black or camel and you can use this item for years. If you want to make a statement go for a bright color or interesting pattern.

Pink Pea Coat

This is an old picture from college, but this is one of my favorite pea coats

Bomber

Bomber jackets are great for a casual day. They look great with jeans and definitely add a coolness factor to any outfit.

Faux Fur

The jacket I listed here looks nice and warm and would also be great for a casual day. Faux fur is also being used in an bunch of different types of jackets including pea coats. Fur is a big trend this season, so why not be good to the environment and be in style with the faux version. Not to mention faux fur is a whole lot cheaper.

What’s your favorite type of fall or winter jacket?

I’m partial to pea coats, I have four different types in my closet right now.

2 Responses to “Jackets Galore”

  1. Linnet November 18, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    I live the Jacket selections and especially love your pink coat. Too cute on you. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and enjoy your moms fabulous cooking. I can taste her arroz con pollos y ceviche now. Haha.
    Hugs
    Linnet

    • Valerie November 21, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      Thanks Linnet! My mom’s cooking is part of what I look forward to the most on Thanksgiving :) I hope you have a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

