Turkey Trot Success

28 Nov

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving! I got back to Boston last night after an amazing weekend.

Thursday

I woke up bright and early for a 6:45 a.m. turkey trot. I was up a little before 5 a.m. since the race was about 40 minutes away. The race was a 5k and I finished it in 22:13.22 with a 7:14 split time.

Headed toward the finish line!

I just checked the results online and I also found out I placed first within my age group. I had no idea, I guess I should have waited for the award ceremony after. One thing that I liked about this race is they gave out medals as you crossed the finish line.

The medal I received crossing the finish line

I was number 90 overall and from what I heard medals were given to the first 150 finishers. There were 718 participants in the race.

Matt came to watch the race, it’s nice to have someone there for you when you finish a race. After we went back to my parents house to rest and then we had Thanksgiving dinner in the early afternoon. It was delicious! The spread included smoked turkey, stuffing, candied yams, green beans, macaroni and cheese,, cranberry sauce, biscuits, and gravy. Dessert included a delicious pumpkin cheese cake. Matt and I then went to Southbury to celebrate with his family.

Friday

Friday was another early morning. I was up around 4:45 a.m. to do some black Friday shopping. I finished most of my Christmas shopping which was pretty exciting.

Friday night I was able to see some of my good friends from high school. Some of them I haven’t seen in years and it was Matt’s first time meeting some of them. I had a great time just catching up with everyone.

Saturday/Sunday

Matt played some football with some high school friends on Saturday morning. Saturday night we helped his family decorate their Christmas tree.

Sunday I went to church with the fam. I spent the rest of the day eating leftovers and watching TV with my mom and dad before I had to take the bus back to Boston.

The whole weekend was sort of a blur, but I was so glad to spend time with my friends and family. I also love seeing my dog Sammy.

Sammy was begging for food all weekend. We let him have some turkey on Thanksgiving.

Today I was back to my regular schedule. I went to the gym and got a nice 5 mile run in. I will be spending the rest of the week working on school stuff. Finals are right around the corner and I have some major projects due so I may not be posting quite as regularly the next couple of weeks.

How was your Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

