Tough Speed Interval Treadmill Workout

2 Dec

Last night I got in an awesome workout and I just wanted to share it. I normally search for tough treadmill workouts online, but yesterday I decided to make my own interval workout.

I decided 40 minutes would be a good amount of time to run and I based my speeds around that. When I do an easy run I typically stick around 7.5 RPMs. This speed workout is a tough pyramid. It starts with a warm-up and slowly gets faster. 7.5 RPMs is the base with quick sprint intervals ranging from 8.5 – 9.5 that only last a minute. I almost wanted to slow down toward the end, but I toughed it out and I am glad I did. I felt really accomplished when I finished. I wouldn’t recommend this for someone that has just started running. Below you can see the whole workout.  I burned about 450 calories and the average pace was about 8:08 per mile for 4.9 miles. Definitely adjust the intervals to suit your fitness level.

Once I finished my run I decided to mix it up with a tough ab workout. Here’s the circuit I went though. You can click on the links to see more details on how to do the exercises.

Side Plank Cross Over (10 each side)

[Source]

Booty Swimmers (10 each leg)

[Source]

Crunches (40 reps)

[Source]

Reverse Crunch (40 reps)

[Source]

Toe Touch (40 reps)

[Source]

Bicycle (40 each leg)

[Source]

Side Crunch (40 each side)

[Source]

Ab Jacks (10)

[Source]

After this I did some stretching before I left the gym.

What’s your favorite ab exercise?

I really like reverse crunches since they work more of the lower abdominal area.

I’d also love to hear if anyone tries the treadmill interval. Let me know what you think :)

4 Responses to “Tough Speed Interval Treadmill Workout”

  1. It's A Want December 2, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    If I were in good enough shape then I would try the treadmill interval workout lol. sometime soon maybe I’ll be able to! I’m about to start running again because I’m going to do a half marathon in April!! I’m pretty pumped but also nervous! As to Ab workouts- I loved what P90x kenpo did for my abs! I wasn’t even doing crunches but it really helped to define them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 11 Christmas Gifts for Runners and Fitness Enthusiasts « 5kFashionista - December 19, 2011

    […] morning I got in a pretty good workout. At the gym today I did the interval workout I made a few weeks ago. I really like this workout and love that it really adds some good speed and pushes me. I slightly […]

  2. Cold Weather Base Layers « 5kFashionista - January 6, 2012

    […] the run I ran through some of my usual ab exercises. I also have a new favorite ab exercise using a stability workout […]

  3. Ways to Stay Active in the Winter « 5kFashionista - January 10, 2012

    […] did a short 12 minute workout from BodyRock.tv called Turn Me On Fitness. At the gym today I did my 40 minute interval workout on the treadmill followed by this abs and arms workout (click on the picture to […]

Leave a Reply

