Outfits for a Day or Evening Date

3 Dec

Any day I get to dress up is a good day, so the days Matt and I decide to go on a date are some of my favorites. We are spending time together doing something fun and I get to find something cute to wear. I have two categories for dates. They fall into either daytime or evening.

Day Time Date

Coffee and a Movie Date


TopShop metallic top, $68, H&M denim skinny jeans, £20, ALDO above the knee boots, $56, Oasis tote hand bag, $70, Gold tone jewelry, $23, Yellow gold jewelry, $20, Michael Kors studded jewelry, $45, Forever21 zebra scarve, $17

For the daytime, I love dressing up sweaters when it is colder out. A slouchy comfy sweater can look dressed up by simply adding skinny jeans and boots. Since this is a date, a heel on the boot dresses this outfit up. The scarf is feminine but subtle. The jewelry in this outfit will definitely make a statement. I love the chain bracelet, multi-colored ring and the gem stud earrings. The girly accessories can make any boyish or slouchy sweater sexy in an understated way.

I would absolutely wear something like this to a movie (the comfy sweater is a great way to stay warm), lunch or just out to get coffee.

Evening Date

Evening Date

Dorothy Perkins long dress, £18, Dorothy Perkins nylon pantyhose, £6, Vince camuto boots, $93, Clutch bag, $35, Kate Spade long earrings, $68

I don’t wear dresses that often so anytime I get to bring one out makes the day a little more special in my eyes. I love the sheer long sleeves on this dress and the accents at the wrists. This is also a great dress because it’s fitted and will show off some leg. This outfit only needs subtle accessories with black ankle boots, seamed back pantyhose, a bad ass little clutch and great drop gem earrings. This would be great for a fancy dinner out or even to go out dancing.

Now I’m kind of in the mood to get dressed up. I think I will hold off this weekend, but get prepared I will be doing a post on holiday party outfits since it’s about that time of year. I would love to know that type of holiday parties you are going to and I can add those looks to my next post.

What type of holiday parties are you going to?

As of right now I will be going to a holiday masquerade (fancy) and possibly getting all done up for New Years.

7 Responses to “Outfits for a Day or Evening Date”

  1. GMILWARD December 3, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    nice styles.

  2. plee7 December 3, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    I love Dorothy Perkins! Just ordered and received a lovely blouse! Great clothing at a great price and shipping overseas not a problem! Love the Evening Date attire!

  3. gracefully50 December 3, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Two great outfits!

  4. Valerie December 5, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Thanks everyone! @plee7 I also recently discovered Dorothy Perkins and they have some great clothes. It’s good to hear that the actual clothing is good quality, I think I might actually buy something now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Party Outifts – What to Wear to Work Gatherings « 5kFashionista - December 8, 2011

    […] As promised I thought it would be a good idea to put together some holiday party outfit ideas, and this will be a 2 part series. Part two will focus on more fun night out outfits. Picking outfits for work gatherings can be tough because it’s important to look professional, but you also want to get into the holiday spirit. […]

  2. Holidays and New Year’s Resolutions « 5kFashionista - January 3, 2012

    […] was fun to dress up and wear masks for the night. That dress should look familiar, I liked it so much after featuring it in my post that I bought it. It was my first masquerade […]

Leave a Reply

