Count Down to Christmas!

13 Dec

This morning I did a Bodyrock.tv workout. It was a quick 12 minute one, it’s always nice to get a intense short workout in. My run today felt so much better than yesterday. My stomach was bothering me yesterday so I ended up stopping half way through my 5 mile run, again! I’ve decided I can only run on an empty stomach. Each time I’ve had a small snack an hour before I’ve been getting cramps. Today I decided to re-do the 5 miler and it felt great, I finished it in 43 minutes. I also decided I’m not doing the Jingle Bell run this weekend. There is just so much going on and I can run a Christmas time 5k next year and really be ready for it.

The Holidays are Upon Us

December has really felt like a whirlwind. My semester is officially over on Friday and I will have only one semester left of grad school. It’s crazy to think I moved to Boston in the summer of 2010, just about a year and a half ago, to start grad school and it’s already almost over. I have enjoyed going back to school, but it will be nice to finish my workday and just be able to go home after, no classes and no assignments.

November to December always seems busy with Thanksgiving and Christmas. Also, Matt’s birthday was this past weekend, so that was another event to look forward to. We went out Saturday night for dinner and drinks with Matt’s brother and friend. We ordered our yearly Grinchtinis, they have peppermint syrup, eggnog and baileys, but I’m not sure what gave them the green color. The drinks were delicious but very filling so instead of having another I went for a plain cocktail.

On our way back from Matt's birthday celebration. I'm so short next to him even in my heels.

I was able to give Matt his gifts too, a game for his XBox that he’s wanted for a while, some nice slacks and boxers. When we got back we played my new favorite game, the Michael Jackson Experience on Xbox Kinect. I love that you get to learn some of Michael’s dances and sing along too. It’s also a bit of a workout.

My preparation for the holidays is pretty much complete. I’m super excited that I just got one step closer to being done with my Christmas shopping, thank you online ordering! I just need to get a gift for my grandmother. What do you buy a woman that seriously has everything? I guess I will have to do some searching. This weekend might include a quick shopping trip out to tie up that last gift, so next week I can just go to work and enjoy my time off from school before I head home to CT for the holidays.

I’ve been pretty good at continuing to workout and eat regularly even though all the holiday goodies are out in full force. I’m sure I will be eating a lot more cookies when I go home for Christmas. I make cookies with my family every year and I seriously can’t wait to bake and snack on them. In terms of holiday food I’m also excited because my mom mentioned that she wants to make tamales this year. It’s a tradition my mom had with our family in Costa Rica around the holidays when she was younger. I like that we can all enjoy making those together along with the cookies. I will post pictures so you all can see the tamale deliciousness. I don’t think they are the healthiest, but they are so good I love eating them this time of year.

What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Mine is definitely baking cookies. It’s a great way to spend time with the family and get into the holiday spirit.

3 Responses to “Count Down to Christmas!”

  1. Yara Simón December 14, 2011 at 5:20 am #

    I can’t run when I’ve eaten anything either, but I also can’t run when it’s like 60 degrees or colder.

  2. plee7 December 14, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    Wow I’m so envious that you can run 5M in 43 mins!! I ran what I think was 5M yesterday but my HRM GPS only registered 1M! I’m hoping today it’s working properly again! Yes it’s hard to watch what you eat at this time of year. We are out every night from tonight till Sunday! We’ve really got to balance the intake and the exercise, especially if hubby wants to meet his weight goals by his birthday which is Dec 24th! Holiday Traditions? I think we are starting a new one, this year is our second annual Christmas Dinner with all my married family! All our kids, my son-in-law’s parents and my husband’s ex-wife and her husband! It’s one big happy family! :) Happy Holidays!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 3 Ways to Transition Warm Weather Clothes for the Cold « 5kFashionista - December 16, 2011

    […] are a great way to make your shorts winter ready. I have actually gone with a similar look on a couple of occasions. Another great variation is wearing the shorts with tights and knee high boots for some added […]

Leave a Reply

