Kettlebell Love

13 Jan

Happy Friday! This morning I did a quick 12 minute workout with some cardio, squats and a killer ab exercise. Since I had my first full week off since the holidays and before classes start back up I ended up at the gym four days this week and I went pretty hard with some varied workouts. I’m glad to have the weekend off to do some stretching, yoga and just relaxing.

Kettlebell Love

I bought a kettlebell last week and I’m really excited about it.

It’s 8 lbs and I love the fact that it’s something that I can use easily as a part of my at home workouts. The first day I bought it I instantly took it out when I got home and started doing kettle bell swings, Matt looked at me like I was nuts. I felt like a kid with a new toy.

Kettlebells routines are great for strengthening and many involve core training. Now that I have my new toy I’ve been looking up different exercises I can do with it. Here are a few of my favorites:

Turkish Get Up

[Source]

This is a great full body workout. I feel it especially in my abs and arms. Check out FitSugar to see the proper form for this workout.

Kettlebell Swing

[Source]

Kettlebell swings are another great full body workout. They get your heart rate up, engage your core, lower body and upper body.

One Arm Swing

[Source]

This just takes the kettlebell swings and makes your muscles work a little differently. This exercise is also great for the whole body.

Kettlebell Workouts on My To-Do List: 

I’ve been searching the internet trying to find some effective kettlebell workout routines so I can really break in the newest addition to my home gym. These are a few I’ve seen.

BodyRock.tv Banging Body Workout

Bob Harper Kettlebell Cardio Shred DVD

Jillian Michael Shred it With Weights DVD

The DVD’s are on my Amazon wishlist waiting for me to buy them on a rainy day or possibly as a gift to myself, we’ll see.

I hope everyone has a great weekend. I forgot it was a three day weekend so I’m looking to get a lot of reading and possibly some movies in to enjoy my last days of freedom before classes start back up. I just finished reading the Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky. It was a great novel, but took me a while to finish, I’m taking a break from classic Russian literature for a while. Now I’m onto the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. I saw the movie last weekend and I’m excited to finally read the book.

Have you every bought a piece of workout equipment that you’ve gotten excited about?

2 Responses to “Kettlebell Love”

  1. Pauline January 14, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    You are inspiring!!! I’ve been resisting weight training all my life, for me I’ve always been cardio cardio cardio, so to not get that heart rate up and constant for anything less then 30 minutes has always been unsatisfying. But as I’m getting older :( I’m realizing that I need to change things up. My husband works with a private trainer while at home, but while in Florida he has set up a home gym, just recently added some new heavy duty pieces so I told him I will join him when it’s all ready. I think I’m gonna be a bit sore! :)

    • Valerie January 19, 2012 at 9:35 am #

      I was the same way, I did some of the basic weight machines at the gym but that was it. I still love running and cardio, but after I started doing different types of workouts I started feeling and seeing more results. I actually like working with different types of weight training now. I would love to have a home gym. Enjoy it once it’s ready :)

Leave a Reply

