Feeling Pretty Sick

18 Jan

I’ve been feeling really congested and achy since Saturday and I went out Sunday night with one of my roommates and her friends, which was probably a bad idea. I had a couple of drinks which I’m sure did not help my body recover.

Since I’ve been under the weather, fashion and working out have been the last things on my mind. This has been my wardrobe since this weekend:

Sick Day

NIKE velour hoodie, $40, Long sleeve tee, $13, Waffle Knit Blanket, £49, Abercrombie Fitch yoga activewear, $24, H&M slipper shoes, £7.99

I’ve been wearing yoga pants, sweats, my fuzzy slippers and I’ve been wrapped up in blankets.

I called out of work yesterday and mostly relaxed. I did try to get in some quick cardio/ strength training in yesterday for about 12 minutes, but that was the extent of my  major activity. I’m not the best at resting I always feel like I need to be doing something, but I think I did a pretty good job of taking it easy yesterday. I cleaned my room, did some laundry and stayed in bed and read. Now I’m about half way through the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Even though I watched the movie, the book has so much more detail and I can’t put it down.

I made it into work today with the help of vitamin C, echinacea tea, sudafed and a nasal spray. I was a foggy mess but I made it through. I brought my clothes for the gym and ended up running a couple of miles and I’m actually feeling a little better. Who knew the gym was a cure-all?

My first day of classes start tomorrow, so I’m hoping I’m feeling a lot better by then. I’m going to take it easy tonight and head to bed early. Being sick is awful.

Here’s hoping the rest of the week improves!

Do you workout when you don’t feel well or do you stick to getting rest?

3 Responses to “Feeling Pretty Sick”

  1. Anna Blaise January 18, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I am totally going to steal those outfits so I can look cute and sick at the same time! Gotta be fashionable. When I’m sick as of lately I study :/ can’t afford to lay around. However last semester I actually worked out while I wa sick and it totally nursed me back to health. Im going to have to do that more this semester!

    • Valerie January 19, 2012 at 9:40 am #

      I know what you mean Anna. Luckily my classes didn’t start yet so I didn’t have to study and instead I could get some rest. It’s weird how the exercising can sometimes make you feel better. I hope you have a great semester! I need to call you soon about plans :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. End of the Week Motivation « 5kFashionista - January 20, 2012

    […] feeling much better after dealing with a crappy cold earlier in the week. I’m still super congested, so I’m hoping I can kick this cold this weekend with a […]

Leave a Reply

