Ice Skating, Movies and the Giants

23 Jan

There’s snow on the ground! This Saturday we finally got a couple of inches of snow, so Matt and I trudged around Boston during most of the day.

Saturday morning I had my fitness assessment at my school’s gym. I had to see how much distance I could cover on the treadmill in 12 minutes, see how many push-ups I could do and how long I could hold a plank. The trainer said I did very good on all the tests, but I will find out more when I meet with her on Thursday. What I like about this assessment is that she asked me some of my health goals and I mentioned that I was thinking about doing a half marathon. The trainer is going to put together a 6 – 8 week training program for me to be able to run a race and also includes strength training. I was glad I ended up with a trainer that also does half marathons. I’m excited to see what she comes up with. It will be cool just to see the program and have that available for if I do decide to run a race. I can also schedule a time to go back to follow-up with her if I’m interested.

After the fitness assessment Matt and I went ice skating on the frog pond.

The rink.

It was so much fun. It was my first time ever ice skating and I was really nervous. I would actually compare it to rollerblading, but more slick. I think I may have been most excited that Matt and I didn’t fall. My hope for the entire trip was to just stand up, but I actually felt kind of comfortable. The only thing I really couldn’t figure out was how to stop, so I would just stop skating to slow down.

Matt ice skating

After ice skating we got lunch and dessert at a restaurant called Finale in Boston. The sandwiches were pretty good, but they are well known for their awesome desserts.

We finished our little outing by going to the movies. We were going to watch Underworld Awakening, but it was only playing in 3D, which we weren’t really in the mood for. Instead, we saw the new Mission Impossible, which was a great action movie.  The rest of the weekend we relaxed. We rented Rise of the Planet of the Apes from RedBox and just chilled out until Matt had to leave Sunday.

Sunday included going to the gym to watch the second half of the Ravens vs. Patriots game while I was on the treadmill. I’m not a Patriots fan so I was hoping the Ravens would win. On a much happier note I am a Giants fan so I’m so excited to see them go to the Super Bowl. I definitely think it will be a great game this year.

Tonight is the first day of my second class. It’s my Capstone class where we work in a group to create a marketing plan for an actual company. I’m really looking forward to this class!

What is the last great movie you saw?

Leave a Reply

