Personalized Fitness Program

27 Jan

So I mentioned that last weekend I did a fitness assessment. This is a free program offered by my college’s fitness center so I definitely wanted to take advantage of it.

I met with the trainer again yesterday and she wrote up a whole fitness program for me based on some goals I told her about. I mentioned that I was thinking about doing a half marathon and also that I wanted to include weight training in the program. I also wanted to learn more weight training exercises.

To start out I did a brief 8 minute cardio warm-up on the elliptical. Then we went over the running portion of the plan. The whole plan will run about 12-16 weeks. I would be running about 4 – 5 times a week and weight training 2 – 3. I would get one main rest day a week. The running includes some easy runs, intervals and race pace workouts. Every week there is one long run and this distance gets progressively longer. Here’s a photo of the plan.

I’m definitely looking forward to trying this out. I don’t think I will start it right away just because of time constraints with school, but I’m thinking of starting it once the weather warms up/ the days get longer and I can do some outdoor runs. I’m thinking I can start this up in March or April. That means I would be looking at a race in June or July.

The second portion of our meeting went over some lifting exercises.

I’ve mentioned before that I tend to stick to the circuit Nautilus type weight machines. The meeting was great because the trainer taught me some great free weight exercises and how to use the large lifting gym equipment that I’ve always been nervous to try out.

I used this pulley thing that I had never used before, totally over my fear of this now.

[Source]

Now that I know how to use this equipment I will definitely be making my way to this portion of the gym. I want to start incorporating more of these workouts into my daily routine even before I start the actual program.

She mentioned that I could focus on lighter weights since I’m not looking to gain a lot of muscle mass. Even with all the body weight training I do I was surprised how tough some of the arm workouts were just using light weights. I’m excited to get stronger and see how that will help me with my running.

I love that my school has this sort of program. I even checked my local gym and they provided a fitness assessment for about $15. I would definitely recommend checking your local gym to see what programs they offer. I’m always looking for neat freebie workout classes, events or promotions. This was definitely a great perk for being affiliated with my grad school.

Even if your gym doesn’t offer this type of program I would say to ask someone that works at your gym to go over how to use some of the more daunting equipment. I never learned to use some of the equipment and got stuck in a routine, but I’m so glad to have some more exercises that I add to my workouts.

This morning I did this upper body workout that my favorite online trainer Zuzana posted. My legs are super sore today so I’m excited to take some time off this weekend.

Have you ever tried a free workout activity?

Other than trying this fitness assessment, I’ve done a free boxing and yoga workshop and both were a lot of fun.

3 Responses to “Personalized Fitness Program”

  1. Into the Spotlight January 31, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    This is a great idea! I went from being extremely active (playing sports) to doing nothing.I am going to try and create a personal log for myself and see if that motivates me to exercise.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Lifting Day « 5kFashionista - February 2, 2012

    […] I had my first lifting day following my fitness program. I had originally planned on doing the arms portion of my lifting routine on Tuesday, but I was […]

  2. Super Bowl Champs! Plus A Glimpse of Warm Weather « 5kFashionista - February 6, 2012

    […] started a lifting routine last week and I am so incredibly sore.  I guess I really am using muscles that I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

