First Lifting Day

2 Feb

Yesterday I had my first lifting day following my fitness program. I had originally planned on doing the arms portion of my lifting routine on Tuesday, but I was still a little intimidated and there were a lot of people at the gym so I backed off. Yesterday I decided to just go for it and I completed the whole routine.

I ran a 5k on the treadmill at a pretty fast pace. I was definitely looking to get some speed in yesterday. I followed this up with a half mile walk to cool down. Then I went straight to the machines, this is what my workout consisted of:

Pushups
Assisted Pullups
Bicep Curls
Tricep Pushdowns
Shoulder Presses
Lat Pulldowns
Crunches
Obliques

I did 3 sets of easy weights and did my reps according to the plan. At first I was thinking it was really easy and almost started to up my weights, but by the time I got to the lat pulldowns I was exhausted.

[Source]

I may not have been bench pressing, but I still felt pretty bad ass. I think next week when I do these again I may keep the same weights to get used to it. Friday I plan to do the leg portion so I’ll be using all new equipment for that and I’m definitely looking forward to it.

This morning I did this full body “Booty Shaping” workout. I keep track of all my scores so it was nice to see improvements from the last time I did this workout months ago. I was doing more pushups and v-ups. Seeing progress is always motivating.

Random Stuff

This week has been crazy, so I didn’t get to mention the awesome weekend I had. Matt and I drove to Long Island and we met up with a bunch of my friends from college. It was an amazing time. I always get so excited when I get to see my girls.

Now I’m off to my last class of the week tonight. I’m still trying to get used to my new schedule. My classes are on different nights and I’m working out on different days, I’m feeling a little out of whack. I’m thinking I should be all up to speed next week.

Alsooo, I realized I haven’t done a fashion post in a while so this weekend I’ll have a new post up. Here’s a hint, it will be a sunny tropical theme :)

 

 

2 Responses to “First Lifting Day”

  1. wartica February 2, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Glad to hear that you’re hitting the gym; it can only lead to a better, overall health. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Bowl Champs! Plus A Glimpse of Warm Weather « 5kFashionista - February 6, 2012

    […] started a lifting routine last week and I am so incredibly sore.  I guess I really am using muscles that I don’t normally engage with my runs or my morning […]

Leave a Reply

