Hodge Podge of a Week

7 Mar

I’ve had a bit of an all over the place and busy week so far.

This weekend included some RedBox (The Rum Diary and What’s Your Number) and some billiards. Matt and I went to Lucky Strike in Boston to play pool. I’m not awful. I can make direct shots, but it was still a lot of fun. Matt’s definitely a good pool player, he’s going to have to teach me all his tricks to make those weird angle shots.

I also baked this delicious cinnamon swirl protein bread from Jamie Eason on bodybuilder.com. I was impressed with how good it came out. I used organic coconut sugar instead of Xylitol. The bread is fluffy, moist with a nice hint of sweetness.

I’ve been bringing two squares to work every day as part of my lunch/ during the day snack.

I’m on “spring break” this week, so I don’t officially have classes, but I still have work and a lot of school work to do. I was able to go to the gym Monday night after meeting with a group member on a project. I ran for 30 minutes and called it a night since I ended up at the gym a lot later than usual.

Last night I met up with two of my friends in Boston, Alex and Beata, and we went out to dinner at Jacob Wirth. It’s one of the oldest restaurants in Boston. They serve German food and have a large beer list. For an appetizer I got potato pancakes served with this cinnamon dressing and apples. For my entree I ordered grilled Weisswurst (Ground Veal, Pork, and Spices) with Sauerkraut on a sesame seed bun with French fries. I also had Sam Adams Boston Brick Red, which is only sold in the Boston area. It was a tasty dinner and it was great to meet up with my friends. We live pretty close to each other, but don’t see other nearly enough.

I’ve decided that my half marathon training will start April 1st. I haven’t signed up for the race yet, but it’s at the end of June so that should give me plenty of time to prep.

I’ve been starting to slowly increase my distances by setting my goal to run for a set amount of time. Tonight at the gym I ran for 50 minutes and completed 6 miles. I finished off my workout with arms.

I already have my eyes on my next race. I’m thinking about a 5k for St. Patty’s Day. I’ll have to sign up soon, but  this will start my goal of running a road race each month.

It was so warm and sunny today. I can’t wait for spring!

What do you look forward to the most with the warm weather?

Leave a Reply

