Save Your Do – Gym Wrap Review

15 Mar

As I mentioned last week I purchased the Save Your Do Gym Wrap online a few weeks ago. I’ve used sweat bands for my workouts and always found that though they kept the sweat out of my eyes during my workouts they just left my hair a sweaty mess, so I haven’t used one in years.

I found out about the Save Your Do Gymwrap on Twitter and thought it was a great idea. It was created by actress Nicole Ari Parker as a way to wick moisture away from your hair and leave hair drier and flatter. She created it also so women would stop using their hair as an excuse to not workout.

“The idea for the Save Your Do™ Gymwrap came to me last year when I noticed a common excuse emerge among busy everyday women (myself included) about why they couldn’t work out: their hair. Hair is a serious issue for most of us women because after spending a ton of time and money to have it washed, blowdried, flat-ironed and curled, none of us want to sweat and mess it up all over again.” Nicole Ari Parker

The Gym Wrap comes in 3 sizes and a few colors, a bandana, medium and narrow width.

[Source]

I purchased the narrow width, which cost $24.98. The company was having a $5 off deal if you liked the product during checkout. Shipping was $7.20 and the final cost was $27.15, kind of steep but I was willing to spend it if the product worked and some of the proceeds go to a great cause. 10% of the proceeds go to the Sophie’s Voice Foundation. A non-profit created by Nicole and her husband actor Boris Kodjoe that was create in honor of their daughter to further research for Spina Bifida.

I ordered the Gym Wrap on February 21 and it arrived on March 8, about 14 business days.

Before my run

I tried out the Gym Wrap for an in-home strength training/ cardio workout and also out on a run.

After the at home workout I noticed that my hair was pretty dry and the Gym Wrap did a great job of keeping the sweat out of my eyes.

Kind of stylish, I like the simple black color.

The real test though was the run. I went on a 6.5 mile run and was out for about an hour in 60 degree weather. During the run I liked that the Gym Wrap felt airy. Normally with other sweat bands you can feel the heaviness of it, but that is not the case with the Gym Wrap. The only thing that I found a little uncomfortable at first were the ties at the neck. They flapped around during the run so next time around I think I’ll try to find a better way to tie it to avoid that.

After my run I stretched at home. I took the Gym Wrap off and it was soaked through, which I wasn’t expecting since it felt so light during the run. My hair was noticeably drier than it usually is after my runs, I was really surprised. I also didn’t have to constantly wipe sweat from my eyes. My hair wasn’t totally dry (I think that would be unrealistic), but I am very satisfied with the Gym Wrap.

The Gym wrap is also very easy to clean. It says it can be put in the washing machine and tumble dried. I put it on the gentle cycle and let it air dry. I do this with a lot of my exercise clothes that have wicking material to try to extend the life.

I would definitely recommend the Gym Wrap. I feel like anything that keeps my hair in decent shape after a run is worth it. The cost is somewhat high, but I will be getting a lot of use out of it. In the future I might consider trying out the bandana or even the wider width band so I can have a few to transition through between washes.

6 Responses to “Save Your Do – Gym Wrap Review”

  1. JC March 16, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    I’ve read some pretty good reviews about the wrap and actually heard my co-workers talking about it as well. It doesn’t make your hair flat?

    • Valerie March 16, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      It does help keep hair flat, which I definitely think is an added perk. My hair is always all over the place and the area the gym wrap covers stays flat and in place.

      • Yolanda Washington April 25, 2012 at 9:55 am #

        Used the hair wrap last night. I like it a lot. I went to my hard core/high impact/high intensity boxing class and because I haven’t been there in over a month our trainer made me work extra hard. Usually when I wear a scarf on my head, it feels like my head is in a sauna and I have to take it off because my head gets over-heated. This didn’t happen last night with the save your do gym wrap. After the super boxing class I took Yoga (which believe it or not works up a heck of a sweat too). Again, my head did not feel overheated with the wrap on and after I showered and took the wrap off , my hair was laying down nicely and not frizzed up as it usually is and felt dry to the touch. Since I had my hair wrapped in pins, I’m sure it was damp inside, but I kept it wrapped until morning. If you like your hair bone straight you may want to use a flat iron afterward, but I was A-Ok this morning without it. I don’t think any product will give us 100% dry hair after a hard work out, but this is a good runner up. Aside from that 10% of the proceeds go to research for Spina bifida which Nicole and Boris’ daughter has. Not a bad product at all. I bought one for my niece as well. She is at the gym a lot more than me these days. Going to ask her opinion on it next week after she has given it a try.

      • Valerie April 26, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

        Thanks for checking out my post and giving some info on your experience. I agree nothing will get hair 100% dry, but the gym wrap definitely does a good job.

      • Yolanda Washington April 26, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

        Absolutely. Thanks for sharing your thoughts as well. I love to read the reviews on a product before purchasing and your review was what actually helped me in my decision making.

  2. Anita May 31, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    Thanks for some insight on this product. I was skeptical about it. Now I will at least try it. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

