Signed Up to Run My First Half Marathon!

26 Mar

This weekend I signed up for my first half marathon! This will be the longest distance I have ever run. I’m running the race the last week of June and although it’s still pretty far away I’m a little nervous and excited.

[Source]

I’m also excited because my mom plans to run this race too. She has wanted to run a marathon for years so doing this half will be a great way for her to get started toward that goal. I’m hoping before the race we can get a few runs in together too.

I will start officially training April 1, to start the 12 week program on time.

I’m going to try and follow the plan I received from Nike. They emailed me the full plan last week. There are four running days and two strength training days a week. I may have to switch some of the days for the week around to work with my school schedule, but it seems like a good plan. I will give a weekly rundown of my training.

One thing I noticed is that the first month consists of some relatively low mileage compared to what I’m used to, but they have a note right on top of the page that says ” The volume may be lower than you are used to running but PLEASE stick to the recommended mileage.” This is going to be really hard for me, but they are the experts so I’m going to stick to it.

So this last week before my official training starts I’m going to stick to my current routine and stay between 3.5 and 8 miles.

What’s the longest road race you’ve ever competed in?

2 Responses to “Signed Up to Run My First Half Marathon!”

  1. SweetP March 26, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Congratulations! I would love to do one, maybe in October! Go Girl Go!

  2. Kristin Barton Cuthriell March 26, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Congratulations! I have done 8Ks but never 1/2. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

