Half Marathon Training Week 1

6 Apr

It’s been a while since my last post. School and work have been nuts. I like the end of the semester because I know it’s all coming to an end, but it’s also the most stressful time with papers, group projects and wrapping up work.

My silver lining for this week is that I officially started my half marathon training program from Nike. Since I’ve been so busy I’ve had to had move around my workout schedule. I’ve been doing a lot of early morning workouts instead of going after work. I’m actually enjoying them. Getting a run or strength training in the morning is a great way to start the day and I actually feel really energized.

Great motivating quote!

[Source]

So here’s what the week has looked like so far:

Monday:

Track 4 x 400 Goal: Time Yourself. Beat Your Time with each 400 that you run.

My splits were 1:49, 1:45, 1:36, 1:32

Tuesday:

Tempo Run: 2 miles EASY

Did this at a super easy pace of about 18:00

Wednesday:

Strength Train A- perform 1 set, getting familiar with the exercises.

I got a sheet full of exercises. They are pretty simple, but I had to look up a bunch of them online since I had never heard the names. Also, a nice easy workout day.

Thursday:

TR2: 2 mile Goal: Meet/ Beat Tuesday’s Run Time

Ended up at a slowish pace here too, but completed this in 16:39.

Friday:

Strength Train B- perform one set getting familiar with the exercises.

Again, I looked up the exercises they listed. I will do another post later in my training to describe these more in depth.

So this has been my week to date. I’m scheduled to run tomorrow and have a day off Sunday, but I’m going to swap those. It’s been super tough for me to start with such low mileage and low reps, but I know it’s going to increase in intensity each week so I’m trying to hold my self back from doing more.

This was also a week to focus on pacing. So though this was slower than I normally run 3 to 5 miles in, it’s probably a good pace for a half marathon.

On to something more personal, it’s my birthday! I’m 25 years old. I never actually feel older on a birthday, but 25 seems significant. I’m definitely thankful to be healthy and where I am in my life. I have a great family, boyfriend, and friends, I’m less than a month a way from getting my master’s degree and I have a good job. I really can’t ask for much more than that.

I took a vacation day off of work and right now I’m actually waiting for my parents to come visit. I’m really excited because I haven’t seen them in a while so it will be nice to catch up. We are headed to brunch and probably to check out the city a bit. Matt’s coming up later in the day and staying for the weekend.

Do you every change your schedule to work out? Wake up earlier or push plans later to fit everything in?

3 Responses to “Half Marathon Training Week 1”

  1. JC April 11, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    I hope you had a lovely birthday! Did you do anything fun? Or are you still cramming for the end of semester?

    I wake up earlier so I can get to work earlier and take a longer lunch break without feeling guilty at work. I like to break my day up in the afternoon with a workout. Right around the time I start to get sleepy so the workout wakes me up. Although if I have too many advertising deadlines, I tend to work around that more.

    • Valerie April 15, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

      Thank you. I did have a great birthday! I just posted a little update. And yes cramming and finishing up projects has come up hard, but I’m done next Monday!

      An afternoon workout sounds great. I get tired around that time at work too. I may have to try that out :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Half Marathon Training Week 2 « 5kFashionista - April 15, 2012

    […] continues. As I mentioned in my last post, my grad classes are coming to an end so these last couple of weeks have been really hectic and I […]

Leave a Reply

