Half Marathon Training Week 2

15 Apr

Training continues. As I mentioned in my last post, my grad classes are coming to an end so these last couple of weeks have been really hectic and I can’t post as often as I would like.

Last time I wrote I was getting ready to head out with my parents who were visiting. We did brunch, shopped and walked around Cambridge for a bit. It was a lot of fun and it was great to see them. I do talk to them regularly, but with classes I don’t see them as often as I would like.

Brunch pic with my mom. I had a tasty gingerbread waffle.

Me and my dad walking around the city.

Matt came up after my parents left later in the afternoon and we went out to dinner Friday night and went dancing Saturday. I had an awesome weekend and I barely thought about school which was nice.

Training Week 2

This week was tough. It was a lot of work just trying to get my runs and workouts in around my schedule, but I made it work. There were quite a few early mornings. One downside was earlier in the week my tendonitis started to flare up again so I cut out one of my running days and switched my training around to be able to take a few days off of running. I do think it helped,my foot has been feeling a lot better. I’ve been doing a lot of preventative icing, stretching and taking ibuprofen.

Monday

I took today off to rest my foot. I’m really trying to avoid any injuries so listening to my body was important.

Tuesday

Strength Train A – This week I did all the sets. It was tough and I was pretty sore. I didn’t want to run today to give my foot another day off so this was a good way to still get a workout in.

Wednesday

Hill Repeats: Warm Up 10 min. flat. 10 x 20-30 sec hill repeat: 30 sec rest between each. Cool Down 10 minutes flat.

I live in an area with basically no hills so I did this workout on the treadmill. If you can do a hill sprint workout outside I would recommend it. The treadmill sounded like it was going to break on me. I completed this workout in 30:20.

Thursday

2.5 mile. I ended up running about 2.66 miles in 19:43.

Friday

Strength Train B. This was a super tough workout with a lot of leg work. I did a lot of squats and lunges and my legs were definitely feeling this.

Saturday

4 mile run- flat with some rolling hills. I was super sore from my workout Friday. This was a great run because Matt did most of it with me. I completed this in 31:52.

Sunday (Today)

A much needed rest day. My legs are sore and it feels good to have a day off.

This week I have a bunch of group meetings and a paper due, but I will try to check in again at the end of the week.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

