2012 Stratton Faxon Fairfield Half Marathon!

27 Jun

I’m officially a half marathoner! This Sunday, after months of training, I ran my first half marathon.

The 2012 Stratton Faxon Fairfield Half Marathon had an 8:30 am start time, so Matt, my mom and I met up and headed out early to make it to the race by 7 am. I had two eggs over easy, toast and an apple for breakfast. Parking was sparse even by the time we got to Jennings beach.

A pre-race photo on the beach.

It ended up being a gorgeous day, warm with a bit of a breeze. Though this was my first half marathon I’ve done plenty of races, so it was interesting to see how this race was set-up. I was a little confused picking up my number because they were not sorted by name. Instead you had to find a separate table and look-up your number then return to the table to for your number.

The race had separate start lines for men and women, which I wasn’t a big fan of. I couldn’t quite figure out the reasoning behind this because everyone merged after a mile. Some couples that were running together disregarded this so there were a few men in the women’s start.

Matt and I standing by the start line.

I felt prepared for the race because I heard ahead of time that it was hilly. I took the first 3 miles out kind of quick I was running about 8 min per mile. After this I slowed down. My goal for the race was to just not stop and if possible finish under 2 hours. Around mile 4 I started to get a cramp, but there were plenty of water stations every couple of miles and this helped, the cramp slowly went away. I slowed down for the water stations since it was hot I wanted to stay hydrated. Also, along the course there were plenty of sprinklers, I ran through most of them.

Nearing the finish line. Only a few more meters left.

There was a good amount of shade throughout the course. The toughest part for me was the last 3 miles. Although this part was relatively flat it was mostly in the sun. It was hard keeping up my pace, but I did it. I finished the race in 1:59:12 with a 9:06 pace per mile. I was so happy to be done and that I made it under 2 hours.

It was also great being able to run the race with my mom. She also had a great time and finished in 2:33:56. We both had an amazing sense of accomplishment.

The post race shot. Check out the medals.

I felt really prepared for the race. The Nike training program definitely helped with getting my endurance and strength up. Although it was a major commitment to make sure I went on my runs and did workouts, I’m glad I was prepared. It also gave me some great new workouts I can start to use when I go back to my regular for-fun training. I will incorporate more speed work and weight lifting into my routine.

What has been your personal favorite race? Why?

One Response to “2012 Stratton Faxon Fairfield Half Marathon!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Half Marathon strategy – 10 points…well almost! | RunJunky - July 3, 2012

    […] 2012 Stratton Faxon Fairfield Half Marathon! (5kfashionista.com) […]

Leave a Reply

