Archive | 7:20 pm

Holiday Party Outifts – What to Wear to Work Gatherings

8 Dec

I did a short 3 mile run on Monday at an easy pace. My legs are killing me now from a BodyRockTV exercise challenge I did on Tuesday. I also did a tough workout yesterday morning, so before work today I decided to just get in some yoga and stretching to loosen up.

Today I got in a longer run at the gym. I decided to do a steady 5 miles, but it was pretty rough. First, I was ridiculously sore and then half way through I had to take a bathroom break.  Running to the bathroom totally threw me off, but what can you do. This weekend I will definitely be taking it easy to allow my body some time to recover with some rest, a lot of stretching and very easy cardio, if I decide to do any.

Due to a change in plans I will end up in Boston next weekend. I was originally going to visit a friend, but one of my exam periods is scheduled for Friday evening so it would have been a lot of traveling in a short weekend. Seriously, why would my school schedule an exam on a Friday?  Now I’m a little conflicted because there’s a Jingle Bell Run that I’m now free to possibly run. It’s next Sunday, but I’m still a little undecided. The weather seems decent enough for a run, granted it’s a little chilly, but it’s a $38 registration. I’m not sure if it’s worth it.

What to Wear to Work Gatherings

As promised I thought it would be a good idea to put together some holiday party outfit ideas, and this will be a 2 part series. Part two will focus on more fun night out outfits. Picking outfits for work gatherings can be tough because it’s important to look professional, but you also want to get into the holiday spirit.

Casual Work Holiday Party

Oasis boatneck top, $95, Minuet Petite cigarette pants, £38, Ted baker shoes, $90, Mango shoulder bag, £55, BCBG Max Azria white pearl jewelry, $78, Blu Bijoux white jewelry, $18

I liked this for a casual work party. The lightly sequined sweater is festive and cute. It could also be worn with collared shirt underneath for a little bit of layering. I love these deep purple ankle pants. Bold colored pants are in this season and these achieve that look in a subtle way. Kitten heel pumps are great for comfort in an office setting and the slight accent on the heel of these shoes make them interesting. The accessories help bring this all together with the small drop earrings and layered pearl bracelet. I personally like having a large bag for the office to carry all my stuff for the day.

This is an outfit that can transition from day to night. It could be used for a party during work or to head out for drinks and happy hour right after.

Evening Work Holiday Party

Dorothy Perkins purple evening dress, $69, H M knit cardigan, £30, Armani Exchange seamed nylon stocking, $15, Platform pumps, $50, La Regale metallic clutch, $58, Natasha Couture metal jewelry, $38, Vince Camuto silver jewelry, $48, Belle Noel by Kim Kardashian pave earrings, $39

I’ve personally never had one, but many offices have formal holiday parties. I’m a little jealous because I love any reason to put on a cocktail or evening dress. For a work event it’s still important to stay professional, nothing too short, too tight or too skimpy. This dress is a nice medium, the one shoulder only shows a little skin and the detailing is gorgeous. I would recommend dark colored nylons or tights to avoid showing too much leg. The sequined cardigan will be good to have if the event is chilly, a nice shawl would also do the trick. The metallic clutch, drop earrings, ring and bracelet also add some appeal and slight drama to this outfit. An evening event is also a good time to bring out the pumps.

Is anyone else doing a Jingle Bell run?

I’ve never done one and thought it might be fun. If I do it, I am definitely running in a santa hat.

Does anyone have a work holiday party they are attending?

I have one next Friday during work, we do a yankee swap and have small snacks and chat. It’s a nice change from the usual workday and it’s nice to catch up with people from the office that I don’t see regularly.